Official BF Editor Forums
Sign in to follow this  
nathan91193

Send Message To Players When They Spawn.

I bought a book on python about 3 weeks ago in an attempt to pick up BF2 scripting. I've been programming in other languages for the past 4 years, and python seems pretty simple. I don't understand what could be wrong with this code.

All I want to do is send some sort of message in orange text at the top left of the screen to players when they spawn. Here is what I have right now.

test.py

import bf2
import host

def start():
host.registerHandler("PlayerSpawn",onPlayerSpawn)

def onPlayerSpawn(self):
host.rcon_invoke("game.sayAll \"" + "§C1001 How are you? §C1001" + "\"")

gpm_cq.py

import test
t = test.start()

I've got them in the "gamemodes" folder of the server files. And of course, the rest of the default code for "gpm_cq.py" is there as well, I just didn't copy it into this post. I get no error message when starting the server or playing on the server. But when I spawn, I don't get the message "How are you?"

Thank you to those who try to help.

Edited by nathan91193

First i suggest you don't init your test script from gpm_cq.py . Instead use your __init__.py in the /gamemodes folder:

import test
test.start()

You now need to hook your OnPlayerSpawn function into the chain for that event :

#test.py
message = 'welcome to the python factory'
import host
import bf2

def start():
host.registerHandler('PlayerSpawn', myPlayerSpawn)
print 'test initialized'
#now its time to use the stuff
def myPlayerSpawn(player,soldier):
  t = player.getTeam()
  host.sgl_sendTextMessage(0, 13, 0, message, t )

Note that i use the SayTeam channel here , the SayAll channel is either 12 or 14, can't remember atm :P note that the handler has a different name from that in gpm_cq.py to distinguish it.

Edited by mschoeldgen[Xww2]