Official BF Editor Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Detrux

Inteview With Lars Gustavsson

Lars Gustavsson discusses the history of the BF franchise, here's an excerpt:

"We'd talked to Trauma Studios while they were making the Desert Combat mod. As a designer, I love talking to the modding community in general. I tend to look at games from the root up - from a designer's perspective - while they look from the surface and try to dig in and see what we intended to do. Having those two different perspectives makes it very interesting to discuss the game, so lots of meaningful discussions went on and we felt that those guys could definitely contribute.

They helped us a lot with prototyping. We wrote, designed and had lots of things we wanted to try out, so while our time was spent in Stockholm creating the new engine, we had these guys implementing our ideas into the old Battlefield 1942 code. They worked really hard, delivering a new build once or twice a week, which meant we had massive playtest sessions. It was a very good way of proving gameplay before we spent time implementing it into the new engine."

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/article.php?id=146916

And,

You spend two-and-a-half years of your life working hard to make a good game, so to then have part of the game's reputation tainted with bugs was upsetting. That puts it high on the agenda of things to change.
Yet still no mention of backporting bugfixes from BF2142 to BF2? :rolleyes:

ctz' date='Oct 2 2006, 07:59 AM' post='51811']

And,Yet still no mention of backporting bugfixes from BF2142 to BF2? :rolleyes:

We are already looking into which fixes can be implemented without risk and which cannot.

Speaking with Lasse about game design is a real treat. I still geek out whenever we talk games.

geek out!...lmfao